SohoSoHo Showreels Directory Menu

Music + Sounds Awards Announce Jury Members for 2018

07 December 2017

Jocyelyn Brown, Senior Music Producer at Leo Burnett, Chicago, Michael Schachtner, Executive Creative Director at BBDO, Berlin, Paul Cartledge, Head of Production at Yellow Boat Music, London and Sam Ashwell, Head Sound Engineer + Creative Partner at 750mph, London, amongst Jury Announced for 2018’s Music+Sound Awards

MASA 2018

For a seventh year, The Music+Sound Awards will globally celebrate excellence in music and sound within Advertising and the rest of the media

Opening for Entries: 10th January 2018

The Music+Sound Awards have this week announced their jury line-up for 2018’s competition. They will each play an intrinsic role in this now well-established, global, awards programme, that recognises and celebrates the indispensable role and outstanding contribution that both music and sound design play in advertising and the rest of the media.

Image Title

The Awards champion the talents and skills of composers, sound designers, music supervisors and sync teams, creating a platform upon which they can stand, and for a brief moment each year, be truly recognised for what they have achieved.

Awards Managing Director, Emma Maguire says, “Winning a Music+Sound Award in 2018 will once again be a true accolade of distinction, considering our highly distinguished jury panel of industry leaders. We sincerely thank each of them for their support and involvement.”

She goes on to say, “The Awards give entrants the chance to have their work heard by an international audience, to showcase to potential clients and to set themselves apart from the competition. We can’t wait to see what 2018 brings!”

Image Title

The Music+Sound Awards’ 2018 Jury Members include:


JOCEYLYN BROWN - Senior Music Producer Leo Burnett, Chicago

MICHAEL SCHACHTNER ­– Executive Creative Director, BBDO, Berlin

JEAN SCOFIELD – Music Producer + Music Supervisor McGarry Bowen, New York

FEDERICO FORNASARI - Creative Production Director, M&C Saatchi, Milan


WILSON BROWN - ECD + Partner, Antfood, NY

HAMISH MACDONALD - Global Executive Producer, Nylon, Sydney + NY

ADAM BARONE – Managing Director, Sonic Union, NY

PAUL CARTLEDGE - Head of Production, Yellow Boat Music, London

DAN CORBIN - Composer, Austen Corbin Productions, London

JOEL SIMON – CEO + President, JSM Music, NY


CHARLES DENEEN - Sound Designer + Sound Supervision, Source Sound, LA

SAM ASHWELL - Head Sound Engineer + Creative Partner, 750mph, London

PETER HOLCOMBE - Sound Designer, Mixer, Partner, Sound Lounge, New York

JON CLARKE - Sound Designer, Factory Studios, London

MARTIN DIRKOV - Sound Designer, Copenhagen

TED GANNON - Founder, Senior Sound Designer, Mixer, Composer, SuperExploder, NY


ILANA GOLDSTOFF - Head of Sync + Licensing, Sizzer, Amsterdam

REBECCA GRIERSON – Executive Producer, SixtyFour Music, New York

FRED ASHWORTH - Head of Production, Native Music Supervision and Production, London

TOBY WILLIAMS - Music Supervisor, Leland Music, London

For a full list, biogs and more information, visit

The Music+Sound Awards will continue to proudly support Nordoff Robbins, the music therapy charity, with £5 from each submission going to this life-changing charity.

2017 Music+Sound Awards' Key Information

• ENTRY WINDOW: 10th January 2018 to 14th March 2018, with a two week extension at a higher fee, to 28th March 2018

• ELIGIBILITY WINDOW: work must have been first broadcast or released with client approval, or completed, in the case of short films, between April 1st 2017 and March 31st 2018

• SUBMISSIONS: can be made via the awards site:
 • ENTRY FEES (includes a £5 donation to charity partner, music therapists, Nordoff Robbins and are in addition to VAT, where applicable):

    - Advertising, Television + Film - £125                

    - Advertising, Television + Film (discounted*) - £115 + VAT                             

    - Short Film - £55 + VAT             
  • See site for discount eligibility

Entry details and competition rules can be found on the awards site,

Follow The Music+Sound Awards on Twitter (@MASawards) and Facebook for news updates.

2018’s Music+Sound Awards are sponsored by Spitfire Audio and Hummingbird Music.

About The Music+Sound Awards

The Music+Sound Awards are the world’s first and only global awards programme to recognise and celebrate the indispensable role and outstanding contribution that music and sound design play in the world of visual media.

Aimed at professionals working in advertising, film and television (branding and programming), the awards are open to anyone who is or has been involved in the creation, composition, sourcing, licensing, briefing and / or production of music and sound design for any media broadcast or released globally.

The awards categories have been created to include the widest possible use of music and sound in the media. They invite entries from television commercials, non-broadcast or viral advertising, branding and title sequence, feature films, television programmes and trailers. Each of these areas will be judged for: best original composition, best sound design and best sync/use of existing music, best re-records + adaptations and best use of production music.

For more information or images please contact Emma Maguire: +44 7808 500 132